Monster Character Turn Around

I started out by thinking about what a common fear among children was and I thought of a common fear of spiders so I designed my character around that fear, I started with the head just having and the legs coming out and then adapting the character to have a furry like body adding in the legs and the arms to create the correct amount for a spider.

cof
Front

The front design of my character is where I put most of my core idea, I added in a lot of furs like effects making the character appear ruff and fury much like a real spider. the design of the head was my main focus as I wanted to merge the look of a man and a spider so I needed to keep a consistent mix I decided first my drawing two large but blank eyes and add in two at each side like a spider having many eyes adding the scariness of the design.

cof
3/4

For the 3/4 view, I showed the character as having a large hunched over back and scrawny arms. I made the back the way I did as at first I wanted to have a large abdomen but instead opted for a thicker back as I felt having an abdomen would make the character look too much like a large spider than a new scary monster. As for the arms, I decided to make them thin and rigid as the images I looked at for my inspiration showed the legs of spiders that were very rigid but thin and only had one bend in them so I decided to reflect this in my design.

cof
Side

The side view is more of the same for the character, this section allowed me to get a close representation of the proportions of my character, I also straightened the back of the character to show a correctly proportioned design and so that when looking in the future I would know that the back only sits as large but is not confined to that position.

cof
Back

The back view shows most what the other views had shown only adding in a more clear outline of the body much like that of a real spiders design having a lot of fur and straight lines coming to a point on each side.

Overall I think that my turn around sketches of my character shows him off as well as I could I also think that doing this has helped me understand further the process of creating a character I will also be looking into creating a fully 3D modeled version of this character over the next few months as I am interested to develop my skills and to see how it would turn out. I will be using software such as Mudbox to do this and will post an update to my blog once I have a showable version created.

One thought on “Monster Character Turn Around

Leave a Reply

